Background behind Shadow Eyes

After reading or hearing about my book, maybe people ask, “How did you come up with that idea?”  The main character in the book, Iris, essentially sees spiritual warfare – the murky shadows and light figures. Believe it or not, the idea actually first came to me quite differently and as a movie idea.  I thought it would be cool to have a Christian-based movie that could also be somewhat of a horror film.  I know, Christian and horror don’t seem to go together, but when you think about spiritual warfare, it would be pretty horrific to witness!  

My idea for the movie was to show a tangled plot of characters in the vein of Valentine’s Day or New Year’s Eve, where all the characters are somehow tied together.  All these characters would have their own various “demons” haunting them and getting them to do and say horrible things – couple cheating, teen alcohol/drug use, bad relationships, dishonesty at work, etc.  Only the audience would be aware of and be able to see the shadows/demons hovering over and around all of the characters.  It would be the ultimate in dramatic irony!  🙂

As far as writing a novel, although I was an English Education major in college, wrote more essays than I can remember, and love to read young adult fiction, I had never written any type of creative writing (aside from poetry)!  Needless to say, writing a novel had NEVER crossed my mind until one of my best friends, Ashley Billings, suggested it to me, saying, “Hey, you’re smart.  You’re an English teacher.  You should write a book like the ones we love to read.”  She’d been referring to the young adult urban fantasies and paranormal books we’d been reading lately, mostly about angels.  Without her encouragement and belief in me, I never would have let the seed of my movie idea that was still lurking inside me develop and morph into what is now Shadow Eyes.  Thanks friend!

Be sure to check out my Shadow Eyes page for info about the book!

(photo from http://st108315.deviantart.com/art/Light-Vs-Dark-118713148)

Image

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on December 30, 2011.

7 Responses to “Background behind Shadow Eyes”

  1. This book sounds EPIC!!! the whole Thought of it makes me want to read it more =D. Cant wait to make the video.

    – erica

  2. I’m sure the trailer will be epic too!!! 🙂

  3. I can’t wait for this book to come out. What an exciting plot! Good luck with the release 🙂

  4. I believe in you, your talents, and God who is working through you to create this amazing book that can positively influence people. And this goes for teens as well as adults. I am 36 and helped my sister with input as she wrote the book. I love the book even at my age. Many of the situations in the book can effect people of all ages. I am proud of you Dusty and I have high hopes for this book.

  5. Thanks everyone! I’m beyond excited!

  6. I am so proud of you, Dusty, for moving forward with this in courage and confidence and leaning on the Lord.

  7. I am so thrilled that you have been given this talent. This has to be an exciting journey, I know I’m excited!!!!

Leave a Reply

 
