Meet Patrick!

While filming some clips today for the book trailer, I wanted the girl playing Iris to know how the scene would go, so I pulled up this part for her to read where Iris first meets Patrick.  I fell in love all over again and wanted to share! (The picture is of the guy from my school who’s playing the part of Patrick in the book trailer!)

***

I traipsed into Mrs. Brown’s computer class to find an exquisite new addition to the classroom…and he was sitting just to the right of my assigned seat. At first I could only see him from behind, and I already knew he was the hottest guy I had ever seen at our school, and quite possibly the world.

It was mostly in his posture. He reclined back in his chair and tilted slightly to the right, leaning leisurely on his right armrest. Even from my limited view, he put off an air of confidence and relaxed aloofness that was alluring and sexy. He was wearing dark wash, boot-cut jeans, black Sketchers, and a black, casual jacket.

I had to remind myself that I had a boyfriend in order to compose myself enough to stroll calmly to my seat. But I didn’t prepare myself enough for what I would see when he turned to gaze at me with his dazzling face. He had dirty blond hair that fell on his forehead in a messy surfer look. Though instead of looking like he didn’t care about his hair like Tyler, this guy looked as though a professional had meticulously messed up his hair for a photo shoot with a surfboard.

I could tell he was tall and thin yet muscular underneath his black jacket and green T-shirt, which, along with his flawless, tanned face, made his deep green eyes stand out like emeralds. He reminded me of a blond, green-eyed James Dean if James Dean had lived in this decade. He had the same seductive attraction and suave attitude that appeared effortless. He even smelled intoxicating, though I wasn’t sure how much of it was his cologne and how much was just his essence reeking sexy.

He pivoted in his rolling computer chair to face me. “Hey, I’m Patrick…and you are?” He flashed a charming smile but held his position instead of reaching out his hand to shake mine as Kyra would have done. Although we had barely met, it felt like a tease and he was playing hard to get since I found myself longing to touch his hand.

***

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on January 18, 2012.

6 Responses to “Meet Patrick!”

  1. Love it. So where’s a pix of this Patrick character??

  2. Wow! Did not leave me disappointed in the least.

  3. I just might start reading again, this is going to be good I can tell already

  4. All it takes is one good book to remind people they love to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
