Meet Josh!

What good young adult novel wouldn’t have some sort of a love triangle in it, right?  I figured it would only be fair to introduce Josh to you as well, especially since you get to meet him in the very first chapter.  The picture is of one of my former students who plays Josh in the trailer (soon to come!).  Enjoy!

Image

I then discreetly moved my eyes to the seat behind Claire where Josh Sanders sat, who was already eyeing me with one of his shy, flirtatious smiles. Electricity radiated from my chest out to my fingertips, and I dropped my pencil on the ground. He bent down to pick it up but kept his eyes on me the whole time before finally extending his hand toward mine. I took the pencil from his open palm. As I did, our eyes locked and our hands touched briefly. Smiling, we held each other’s gaze for a few seconds until he bashfully looked away. His bright blue eyes, perfect smile, short, perfectly-groomed hair, and toned muscles always made him look like a sexy, dark-haired Ken doll. Too bad he wasn’t as confident.

“Iris Kohl,” he said thoughtfully, as if he enjoyed the feel of my name sliding off his tongue. “A little birdie told me it was your birthday tomorrow. Is that true?”

I jerked my head back to Nicole with a severe glare, but she just shrugged and smiled at me.

I turned back to Josh, blushing. “Uh…yeah…it is. Another year older…”

“Well, I have something for you.” He reached into his bag and pulled out a small dark purple object. “It’s really nothing,” he stated nervously. “I just saw it and thought of you because the violet color is really pretty like your eyes, and I knew you liked to read, so…”

He handed the purple item to me and I recognized the familiar shape. A bookmark. As simple as it was, his thoughtful gift felt like a priceless gem in my hand. Books represented a comforting retreat to me, a way to escape my chaotic, shadowy life. Even though he didn’t know the real me, the fact that he knew me well enough to get me such a meaningful gift, along with his kindness and the compliment about my eyes, sent me swimming in clouds of ecstasy.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on January 26, 2012.

5 Responses to “Meet Josh!”

  1. Love it! You do have a way with words! The guy you chose for the trailer looks like he has a lot of personality, too. 🙂

  2. Lol! How can you tell? You are right though. He’s always making me laugh. 🙂

  3. I may be biased, but that is one good lookin’ boy there! :-))

  4. Ummmmm….for the record….that is my son 😉

  5. Haha! That’s why I chose him! Well, that and I knew he’d do a good job and wouldn’t be shy in front of the camera. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
