Searching for Reviews…

So time-consuming, yet so very critical for promotion!  This is what I’ve been doing with my time lately.  It seems like after ever milestone (finishing the book, getting signed by a publisher, finishing the editing, it finally being published) there is something new to tackle.  People always say writing the novel was the easy part.  I’m pretty sure I agree.  In the very least, it was the most fun.  Right now, my job is to promote and get the word out, and that involves getting people to review the book and post the reviews on their blogs.  This consists of searching the internet and YA book blog directories for people who look like they might enjoy the book, checking their site for contact info and review policies, sending emails, and waiting… Ah, the waiting!  In the end, though, it does pay off.  I got my first review back recently, and hearing what she had to say about my book was amazing!  I know they won’t all be completely free of negative comments, so I’ll have to get used to taking criticism.  In the meantime, I’m going to revel in Tana’s nice comments.  🙂  Here is a tidbit of the review:

Dusty Crabtree is a new and upcoming author, I was thrilled to read and review her novel Shadow Eyes. The cover, concept and the book description pulled me in and I knew I had to read this. Dusty’s writing is easy to read and her words flowed seamlessly, I truly enjoyed this novel and Dusty’s writing technique. I actually had a few books to read ahead of this book but my mistake was picking it up and taking a look through it, which then caused me not to put it down. The character descriptions are done well I found you really got to know the main characters which help you connect and feel for Iris. The plot is good and like I said it had me to where I couldn’t put the book down as I wanted to know what was going to happen.

To read the full review, check it out at http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13454259-shadow-eyes

 

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on February 22, 2012.

One Response to “Searching for Reviews…”

  1. Didn’t know your end of it would still be going by now?? Hang in there. Do what you can and leave it all up to God. 🙂

Leave a comment