Musa Monday: Love Sucks

I’m a sucker for young adult urban fantasy/paranormal novels (sorry for the pun, but I couldn’t resist), and this one by Sage Collins looks awesome!  I love the plot idea and the tagline just cracks me up.  I am definitely excited to read it!  Click on the cover to buy from Musa!

Mailee is about to answer the age-old question: “How much love would a love sucker suck if a love sucker fell in love?”

Mailee’s greatest wish is to be an ordinary teenage girl, but thanks to one stupid demon gene she consumes love from any human she touches.  The only person she can touch is her best friend Eric, a hot lust-drainer.  Except for slight hand-brushes to keep from starving, she avoids humans.

Until she meets Logan, a diabetic and the first human who could understand Mailee’s diet angst.  She grows closer to him, but each touch risks his love for her.  If she wants a normal relationship, she’ll have to become human. But the only way requires her to free and be infected by demons representing the Seven Deadly Sins. Sloth? Pride? No problem.  But when wrath-infected Mailee punches the cheerleader who’s making eyes at Eric, she realizes getting through the sins might cost too much.

Like Eric. Because if she turns human, he’ll be the only one she can’t touch.

Excerpt

“Do you mind if I get some water?”

“Oh, I’ll get it, sweetie.”

I got up before Corinne could and ran into the kitchen. I really wanted some ice water. I got some ice from the freezer, smiling sadly at the one leftover report card of Eric’s from last year that his mom had tacked up on the fridge. Now that he had his own apartment, I wondered if she’d get those or bother. Was it pride in her son or motivation for him to get more As? I suspected a little of both.

I made up my ice water and turned to go, running squarely into Corinne. I completely froze upon touching her and dropped the glass, shattering it against the floor.

“I’m sorry. Sorry!”

“Mailee, it’s okay. I’ll clean it—”

But I was running out the door already. I had run into Eric’s mom, I had drained her a little. I had broken his family dynamic. The only perfect family I knew, and I had drained his mom.

Without thinking, I ran up to Eric’s old room and threw myself on the water bed and began to cry. How long until Eric came to tell me off for draining his mom? What had she been thinking of anyway? Was she thinking of dinners with family, or Eric and his grades like I was? Was she thinking of me? Of Tony? Of spaghetti? I should’ve asked. She was one of the few people I could ask about what I had drained from them, and I hadn’t thought to do so.

I looked up and wiped my eyes, trying to stop crying before Eric saw me next. Eric’s old room still held trappings of when he had lived here. Some stuff was stored in boxes, but he still had pictures on the walls of his football idols, shelves full of books that he hadn’t moved over to the apartment yet, knickknacks of all sorts, a green box painted with bugs on its own shelf on the bookcase…

Wait a second, I knew that box. That was Matt’s box, from when he was young. I had looked for that box after Matt left because I thought the key he gave me might fit it. Why did Eric have Matt’s box?

I ran over to the bookcase, stood on my tiptoes, and took it down. I placed it on the bed with me and took the key from under my shirt. Maybe this was a hint where Matt had gone. Maybe we could find him if only Eric and I had known we had to put the two pieces together.

My hands shook as I tried to get the key in the lock. Hand-eye coordination, please.

Eric entered before I had managed. “No!” He ran in and snatched the box from me.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on August 20, 2012.

3 Responses to “Musa Monday: Love Sucks”

  1. Tweeted and shared, Dusty and Sage!

  2. Oh my gosh, that sounds like a REALLY good book! I HAVE to read it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
