Fun Friday – A Movie for Every Mood

I love movies!  I enjoy many different genres of movies, but sometimes you just have to be in the mood for certain ones.  Then there are those specific movies that are the old standbys for whatever situation.  For instance, my mom always used to watch Sabrina any time she was at home sick.  She said it was simple and relaxing and made her feel better…or maybe that was Harrison Ford.  Either way, different movies speak to us best in certain situations.  Here are a few of my favorites for the different seasons of life we sometimes find ourselves in.  What are yours?

 

When I’m sick – You’ve Got Mail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I’m hanging with girlfriends – Pride and Prejudice

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I have to file or grade papers – National Treasure

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to laugh – Hot Fuzz, Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, Drillbit Taylor, The Green Hornet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to feel inspired – Miracle, October Sky

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to be blown away with brilliance – Inception (and fav of all time)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want awesome action – Iron Man I and II or Transformers

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to be scared – Disturbia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to see blood and guts…oh wait…I never want to see that…EVER!

When I want epicness – Avatar

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want a cute love story (and to gawk at Jude Law) – The Holiday

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I’m actually in the mood for heavy emotions – Titanic

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want warm fuzzies – We bought a zoo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want innocent, family fun – Night at the Museum

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to relish in the good old-fashioned Christmas season – White Christmas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I want to feel the Christmas spirit – The Polar Express

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on August 31, 2012.

2 Responses to “Fun Friday – A Movie for Every Mood”

  1. Interesting picks! My daughter always watches Jurassic Park when she’s sick, I have no idea why! Hmm, I like watching “Big Trouble in Little China” when I’m feeling nostalgic (spent lots of time in San Francisco Chinatown in my 20’s), “Love, Actually” when I’m feeling girlie and want a love story, Charlie Chaplin movies when I’m sick (which is rare), Harry Potter, The Neverending Story or Labyrinth when I feel like I want to escape, Woman in Black or Gothic when I want a good scare (though both aren’t TRULY scary, I want to be able to sleep at night, lol) Young Frankenstein when I want a laugh, and The Full Monty when I want a “feel good” movie. Nice post, Dusty!

Leave a Reply

 
