Teen Tuesday – Funny student quotes

Too many times one of my students has said something hilarious that I wished I’d written down.  A few things have happened recently that I can still remember, so I figured I’d share them with you.  Hopefully you find them almost as funny as I did.  🙂

While trying to review the basic plot stages (that we’ve gone over several times, btw), I asked what the first stage was, and almost all of them shouted the correct answer, “Exposition!”  I wrote it on the board and then move on to the next stage, rising action.  As I’m writing that one down and we’e all forgotten about the exposition, a student who is always a few steps behind blurts out from the back, “Does that say explosion?”

One of the biggest problems I see with questions about author’s purpose is that students are so focused on themselves that it’s hard for them to think from someone else’s perspective.  I’m not trying to be mean.  That’s just the way their brains are wired.  So, I told them, “I know this is going to sound harsh.  But when I ask you what the author’s purpose of something is, I don’t care what you think about the selection.  If it’s an article and you thought it was interesting or entertaining, I don’t care.  The author’s purpose wasn’t to entertain you.  It was to inform.  If the essay didn’t persuade you and you weren’t convinced, I don’t care.  Their purpose was still to persuade.”  I go on a little bit more, and one of my students who knows I’m an author, in his extremely thick and loud country accent, says, “Ah, she’s just tryin’ to defend her author friends.”

While reading The Canterbury Tales with my seniors, we’d just read the description of The Wife of Bath and discussed how even though she was worldly and had been married 5 times, Chaucer still thought she was a worthy woman.  I turned my back to write something on the board about her and I hear one of my students singing in the vein of Billy Joel, “She had 5 husands, but she’s always a woman to me.”

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on October 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
