Teen Tuesday – Stereotypical Freaks

Howard Shapiro, author of the graphic novel Stereotypical Freaks, found me from a review I posted on my blog a while back, I believe.  He kindly sent me a copy of the book for to use in my classroom for my freshman students who would like to read it.  I recently had one such student read it and write a review as well.  Check out the synopsis, excerpt, and my student’s review at the end.  Click on the cover to buy the ebook from amazon, but it is available for hard copy as well.  🙂

Synopsis:

Four disparate high school seniors come together to compete in their school’s battle of the bands. Sharing a love for playing rock and roll, the members name the band “The Stereotypical Freaks” because they feel stereotyped by their classmates – smart kid, geek, star athlete and quiet weirdo… when in fact they know they are much more than those labels that have been placed on them. When one member reveals life altering news, winning the competition takes on more of a meaning to each member. Scared and angry, upset and yet still with a lot of resolve they set out to win one for the good guys… will they?

Review:

(From one of my freshman students – with a few spoilers removed) Overall I feel that it is a good book, but I also feel that they could have split this up into more than one book. I think the storyline was kind of rushed along. In my opinion the illustrations of Jacoby’s [problem] really helped to show just how much of an effect [it] was having on him. This book is a heartfelt good read. I would definitely recommend my friends and their friends’ friends to read it.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on November 20, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
