Teen Tuesday – Fond Youthful Memories?

Sometimes I look back on my time as a teenager and cringe.  But sometimes I look back and smile, remembering certain things that I loved about being so youthful.  Not that I’m old…but obviously being an adult with a job, a husband, and responsibilities doesn’t always make you feel young.  🙂

One thing I remember that was somewhat cool and also somewhat sucked was how it seemed like everything you did, whether it be a school competition, performance, or assembly or something social, was THE BIGGEST THING OF YOUR LIFE!! It’s like everything revolved around that one event, and any little thing that affected it was a big incident instead of something tiny and non-consequential.  Looking back, I can see how stupid that way of thinking was, but I’m young enough to remember a little of how it felt at the time as well.

Here’s what gets me: If something like that is the most important thing in your life at that moment – nothing else in your life is pressing enough or major enough or demanding enough to top it – then I’d say, you’ve got it pretty good!

So, here’s to being young, carefree, and not responsible for careers, finances, and other people.  Those of you who fit into this category, enjoy it while you can!

orig-20986362

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on December 11, 2012.

2 Responses to “Teen Tuesday – Fond Youthful Memories?”

  1. You know what I miss about being young, especially around the holidays? Not having to prepare anything for the holidays. Just being allowed to be a kid, enjoy playing with my toys, my friends, my cousins. No social responsibilities whatsoever. Ah, the good old days! Cheers, Dusty!

Leave a Reply

 
