Fun Friday – Sweet Make-Up Kiss Anyone?

I’ve been writing the sequel to Shadow Eyes over the break, and I’m loving it!  I am now officially 2/3 of the way finished!  I wanted to share with you a super sweet scene I wrote recently that involves Iris and her (ahem) special someone… (can’t say who that is for those who haven’t read the first one yet – hurry up people!).  Anyway, they were having some major trust issues and just got through sorting it all out.  This is their make-up kiss.  🙂

silhouette-of-kissing-couple1

“I’m sorry so many men in your life have let you down, Iris.  I haven’t exactly helped, have I?”

“Well, in some ways, no.”

He groaned.  “Come on.  You’re supposed to correct me and tell me I’m wrong.”

I smiled.  “We’re being honest, remember?”  I grabbed his hand and held it tight as I peered into his eyes.  “But you have given me hope that there are still good guys out there in the world.  And I’m lucky enough to call one of them my boyfriend.”

He leaned toward me and touched my cheek with his free hand, his gaze drifting back and forth between my mouth and my eyes as he drew nearer.  Finally, our lips met, and it was such a tender kiss, such a genuinely affectionate kiss, that I pulled him closer for more.  This was right.  Our relationship, with all of its dysfunction but also newfound honesty, was right.  I smiled on his lips and he drew back far enough to see my ecstasy for himself.

“You don’t know how good it is to see you smile again.”  He pulled me back to his chest and wrapped his arms tightly around me.

“No,” I said with my chin resting on his shoulder and my arms wrapped around his neck.  “But I know how good it feels to be the one smiling.”

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on January 5, 2013.

3 Responses to “Fun Friday – Sweet Make-Up Kiss Anyone?”

  1. Go you! Congrats on 3/4 of the way through. Looking forward to book #2 🙂

  2. Following you on Twitter. I like your site on WordPress. Mine needs some work. Hopefully I will get there. You can see samples of my work at: Authonomy: http://authonomy.com/books/35507/the-flight-of-the-hive/
    or my site: http:/lordofthequills.weebly.com
    Best of luck with your novels in the coming year.

Leave a Reply

 
