Teen Tuesday – Homework causes lying?

In preparation for Romeo and Juliet, I had my freshman write paragraphs stating whether or not lying to parents is ever justified, using examples.  I have gotten some very interesting answers to say the least, but this one just cracked me up.  She turned it into a persuasive argument for teachers!  I’m pretty sure she committed several fallacies in her argument, but whatever…  (By the way, the transitions were given in an 8-sentence paragraph format to help them, although they didn’t have to use them.)

Lying to parents is okay sometimes.  For example, if I don’t wanna do my work after school, all I gotta say is I don’t have any homework.  This means that I don’t like my homework.  As a result, I really hate lying to my dad but I really hate homework.  Furthermore, don’t give out homework and I won’t lie.  This shows that homework makes a lot of kids lie to their parents  This further shows that if we don’t have homework, we don’t have to lie.  Overall, don’t give out homework anymore.

Garfield-Homework1

So are you laughing yet or shaking your head?  I think I did both.  🙂

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on January 15, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
