Fit Friday – Berry Almond Chicken Salad

I decided to switch my Fun Friday posts to Fit Friday recipes for a while.  I’ve been counting my calories lately and trying all sorts of yummy recipes I’d love to share with you!  Some of them I’ve found, and some I’ve just made up.  On each post I’ll give you the nutritional information as well as my personal notes on making it and how it turned out.  Hope you enjoy the new series!

This first recipe is one I created to mimic those Berry Salads we’ve been seeing at all the fast food restaurants.  It tasted delicious!!!  IMG_1707We’ll call it…(drumroll please)…Berry Almond Chicken Salad (okay, unoriginal name, I know).  By the way, I totally stole this picture from the Internet because I forgot to take a picture of my salad when I made it a few weeks ago.  But I’m sure it looked something like that.

BERRY ALMOND CHICKEN SALAD (329 calories)

Spinach leaves, cucumber, carrots, and/or whatever other veggies you want

4 oz. grilled chicken, sliced (I used leftover grilled chicken tenders; about 2 tenders is 4 ounces.)

1/4 cup sliced strawberries

1/4 cup blueberries

1/4 cup reduced fat feta cheese crumbles (Just buy it and like it – I know it’s weird, but it’s awesome on this salad!)

2 Tbsp slivered almonds (Toast these in a small pan on medium high, tossing every now and then until lightly browned and they start to smell – soooo much better tasting…although not as good for you…)

2 Tbsp Kraft Raspberry Vinaigrette Light (This is an awesome low-cal dressing!  But add fruit or Craisins to whatever salad it’s in to add some flavor.)

                                                                                  Calories    Carbs    Fat    Protein    Sodium    Sugar
Tyson – Chicken Tender Frozen, 4 oz / 2 tenders 100        0 1    22      110        0 Ico_delete
Strawberries – Raw, 0.25 cup, sliced 12        3 0     0        0        2 Ico_delete
Blueberries – Raw, 0.25 cup 21        5 0     0        0        4 Ico_delete
Reduced Fat Feta Cheese Crumbles, 1/4 cup 60        1 4     7      420        0 Ico_delete
Best Choice – Slivered Almonds – Natural, 1/8 cup 90        4 8     3        0        1 Ico_delete
Kraft Salad Dressing – Raspberry Vinaigrette Light, 2 Tbsp 50        5 4     0       240        5 Ico_delete

333       19 17    32       770       12

(P.S. Sorry some of the numbers are in weird places.  Not sure how that happened, but I’ll work on it.)

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on June 14, 2013.

4 Responses to “Fit Friday – Berry Almond Chicken Salad”

  1. Yum! This sounds delicious – except for the feta for some reason. Thanks, Dusty, I needed a great salad recipe right at this time, and now I have one with your aid.

  2. Anything with Strawberries is okay with me . I will try this it sounds very nice and not at all naughty.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

 
