Teen Tuesday – Get Your Spiritual Edge Back

LifeChurch_podcast_logo

My pastor at Life Church, Craig Groeschel, recently did a sermon called “Get Your Edge Back.”  It was all about how you once were on a spiritual high, close to God, and spiritually fit, and then along the way…something happened.  Maybe something obvious.  Maybe not.  And eventually, you lost that edge.  Craig said to think about what you lost, be real about where you lost it, and then do what you did before when you had it.  That last part is what hit me the most.

It’s not as if I’d fallen off the wagon or anything, but I had noticed that my spiritual life wasn’t the same.  A few things came to mind that the Lord laid on my heart – things I had been doing before and wasn’t as much or at all anymore.  One of those things was to serve, namely as a youth sponsor.  Switching churches earlier in the year and then youth group being out for summer, I took a pretty long break from serving in the church.  With school out for the summer, I wasn’t even teaching to be around high-schoolers for 3 months.  Now, that may not seem like a big deal.  Everyone needs a break every now and then.  I agree.  But everyone is different, and when God creates you to do something and you don’t do it, you can feel the repercussions.

youth-group

I was created to mentor teens.  I know I was.  I knew it before, but I definitely know it now.  How do I know?  When I went back to being a youth sponsor last week, I swear it was as if something literally clicked inside me as I took on that roll again.  As though my spiritual gears had grown rusty and me being around and mentoring teens was the anointing oil that brought them back to life.  I will tell you right now, there is nothing like the feeling of being in God’s will and doing what you were called to do.  If we do that, God will put everything back into place until we are whole again.  Of course, I’m not saying I’m completely back to normal and perfect.  I’ll never be perfect.  But I’m definitely on my way to getting my edge back.

So, what have you lost?  Where did you lose it?  What were you doing before when you had it?  Think about it.  And then do it.  Trust me, you won’t regret it.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on September 3, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
