Fit Friday – Egg Muffins and Other Healthy Breakfast Ideas

If you’ve never looked at the nutrition information on the labels of the things you’re eating, you should.  It just might rock your world.  I never realized how much sugar was in everything I ate until I started logging all my food on MyFitnessPal.  The main thing I realized was that I was eating half of my allotted grams of sugar for breakfast!  And I was eating a good, “healthy” breakfast, too!  I would have some fiber cereal with almond milk, possibly with some fruit like blueberries, and coffee with coffee creamer and splenda, and I’d end up with about 20 grams of sugar!  So I decided to do my best to cut corners where I could in order to eliminate sugar in that meal.  I use sugar-free coffee creamer now and pay attention to the sugar in the cereal I buy – not just the calories.

Healthy Toppings for Cereal or Add-ins for Oatmeal

Oatmeal-Quick-Detail_sflb

cereal-fiber-fiber-one_300

If you’re trying to stay away from too much sugar, get some quick oats or low-sugar cereal like Fiber One Original, Total, Cheerios, Kix, Chex, etc. (I normally mix other cereal with Fiber One Original) and add low-sugar or sugar-free things to it.  To see a list of low-sugar cereals, click here!  Also, unsweetened vanilla almond milk is awesome in cereal and is half the calories of skim milk.  It also has only 1 gram of sugar per cup as opposed to at least 11 grams in skim milk.  It also has more calcium, just not much protein.  Just choose a higher-protein cereal if you want.

  • PB2 (powdered peanut butter)
  • Dry pudding mix (any flavor, but I really like pistachio, especially with blueberries; banana pudding is great with a chocolate flavored cereal too)
  • Herbalife Apple Fiber Complex (warning, don’t use much of this in cereal – it’s strong!)
  • Cinnamon and other spices
  • Splenda
  • Extracts like vanilla, almond, maple, caramel (more for oatmeal)
  • Sugar-free preserves or jam (more for oatmeal)
  • Sugar-free coffee creamer (again, for oatmeal)
  • Chopped nuts
  • 1/4 cup low-sugar fruit (blueberries – 4 grams, strawberries – only 2 grams)

Okay, now let’s talk about the egg muffin.  Eggs don’t have sugar, but most of us don’t have time to make eggs in the morning.  I found this particular recipe on another blog – see original post here.  I just doubled the cheese.  Hehe.  Make these 12 at a time and keep them in the fridge for an easy morning breakfast.  Just pop a few in the microwave for 30-60 seconds.  They’re only around 50 calories each, so either add some meat or eat with something else like toast and sugar-free preserves or low-sugar cereal if needed.  ***Tweak the recipe with different vegetables, seasonings, and other ingredients.

Egg Muffins

2013-09-02_09-39-35_414

  • 6 eggs
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened almond milk (regular skim milk will just add some calories and sugar)
  • ½ cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2/3 cup chopped broccoli
  • 1/3 cup raw spinach (I cut mine in shreds with kitchen shears)
  • Dried Basil and dill, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper (be liberal with your seasonings)

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Spray 12-cup muffin tin with non-stick cookie spray.
  • Mix all ingredients together.
  • Pour evenly into the 12 muffin cups.
  • Bake for 25-30 minutes

Nutrition Info for 1 muffin: calories 53, carbs 1, fat 3, protein 5, sodium 77, sugar 0

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on September 6, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
