Tuesday Toddler Tip for Teething!

No this is not a new weekly feature. In the past I’ve done Teen Tuesday posts, usually YA book reviews or some post relating to teens. I’ll still do those, but who knows! Maybe a Tuesday Toddler Tip or even just a Tuesday Tip post will show up again. 🙂

image001

I just had to share this because I know how many frustrated parents go through teething, especially the molars around 1 year of age! I’m going through that right now, and it’s horrible! Little angels become holy terrors with irritability worse than a woman on PMS and tantrums worse than a 3-year-old spoiled brat. Parents wake up 10 times at night to a screaming baby, barely getting any sleep. Random vomiting, diarrhea, fevers, and other strange physical issues.

But worst of all is them crying out, “Mama!”  clearly in pain, and you’ve got nothing left up your sleeves to help.

cryingbaby2012

I’m here to add one more trick to put in your Super Mama bag!

41YbsqJ3kbL

Now, I can’t take credit for coming up with this myself. I read a stranger’s comment on a friend’s Facebook post about her child teething. Also, after googling it, I’ve found it’s a fairly common thing, but I’d never heard of it before. Anyway, I decided to give it a go. And…it worked wonderfully! I’ve used this trick 4 times so far (once just last night), and each was a success!

Okay, so here it is. Ready? Brace yourself. It’s mind-blowing.

Frozen Waffle.

frozen-waffle-taste-test_612

I know, right? Super simple, yet brilliant. It’s something most mom’s of toddlers have in their freezer anyway. It’s cold to soothe their gums without being shockingly cold like a teether (which my little one pushed away several times while crying in the middle of the night). It distracts them from their crying by giving them something to suck and chew on and gradually eat. Plus, it puts food in their bellies and soothes their tummies to help them go back to sleep! Every time I’ve used this trick, I give her about a third of one and let her chew on it while I sit down with her and let her relax. Then I give her a quick drink, and off she goes to bed again! If you’re giving her ibuprophen/tylonel too (if you haven’t just a few hours earlier, lol), give it to her first and by the time she’s done with the waffle it will have kicked in.

I’m sure it won’t work for everyone as every child is different, but, hey, it’s worth a try!

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on March 25, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
