The Self-Publishing Journey Ahead

I generally consider myself a fairly smart, knowledgable person…until I attempt to do something I’ve never done before. Then I feel like an incompetent idiot. Are there any other self-publishers out there? Or, better yet, are there any newbie self-publishers out there? If so, raise your glass of whatever you’re drinking with me. Here’s to feeling like an idiot for a while as we figure this whole self-publishing thing out.

should-you-self-publish-your-books.jpg

Lol. I’m just kidding…but seriously.

If you know me or have seen my blog before, you might know that I’m not completely new to publishing books. Granted I only managed to get one book published through Musa Publishing before they had to close their doors; the sequel was in edits with them when they closed. So I’m not anything close to an expert. But I at least have a little knowledge and a few connections. Still, trying to figure out everything I need to do on my own to get this done the right way is like the kid who entered the science fair with his toy rocket (entered, mind you, not won) trying to launch an actual rocket into space. Okay, maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, but it does seem like there are so many things to consider and get done.

Proton_Zvezda_crop

However, just like the kid from the science fair launching a rocket, I feel not only incompetent for the task at hand, but also excited, challenged, motivated, and hopeful. Having competent friends to answer my questions is helping, for sure. But the biggest thing has been knowing that my desire of finally getting this series off the ground again is going to be a reality soon! I can’t wait to get Shadow Eyes out there again and then continue with the sequel that’s been completed for what feels like forever and the 3rd and final book I just started.

SELF-PUBLISHING-VS-TRADITIONAL-PUBLISHING

For the longest time, I shunned self-publishing as an option because of the stigma I saw many people had of self-published books as being “not good enough” to be picked up by a publisher. And there is some truth to that. I mean, anyone can self-publish a book, and many self-published books haven’t been professionally edited. But I’m beginning to realize that there are so many authors who write great quality books that just don’t fit the mold for most traditional publishers who want fairly mainstream books that cater to a wide market.

And that’s okay! It’s okay to be different and not fit their mold!

3d_figures_1011.jpg

In fact, I’m proud to not fit their traditional, mainstream, please everyone and cater to everyone mold! My books will find an audience that will love them for what they are – bold, unapologetic, unique, spiritual and morally grounded yet too edgy to fit a Christian mold either.

It’s going to take a lot of work. And there will be opposition. But I am not afraid. In fact, I’m stoked!

This is going to be an awesome ride!

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on June 27, 2016.

Leave a Reply

 
