Writer, Teacher, Mom – The Balancing Act

First, let me preface this with saying that those titles are not in order of importance. In fact, they’re backwards. I’m sure most moms would agree – being a mom (and wife) comes first,  our careers come second, and our hobbies and passions come after that.

priorities.jpg

Priorities, people.

But is having priorities enough to get everything done. Do priorities actually do my job for me? Do they write for me? Do they get the kids fed and taken care of? No. I do all that. Sometimes. And not always very well…

20161203_105233.jpg

Priorities may help me know which tasks to do first and which ones take precedence when others have to take the back seat. But that’s it.

So what’s a mom to do? How do you balance being a mom, working, and writing (or any other hobby/passion)? How do you manage it all and get everything done?

balancing-act-cover-photo.jpg

(By the way, I don’t know why the mom is smiling in this picture…)

You want to know my secret? Shh. Come close and I’ll tell you. Are you ready? Here it is…

 You don’t.

And there it is. Thanks for coming, ladies and gentlemen. I’ll be here all week. Wait…actually I won’t. I have work to do…

But, seriously, “You Don’t!” That’s the big secret that I have painfully learned over the five years it has taken me to finally get the sequel to Shadow Eyes released.

Life happens! And that’s okay! Five kids happened to me, off and on, for four years. Now we only have two, which is much more manageable and leaves a little more time for my writing. But I’m not upset for the writing time I lost or for my teaching that may have suffered a little because I was busy loving on some precious kids who needed to be loved.

16114298_1555411157821861_7949284080806831973_n.jpg

15977385_1555411121155198_5336308567430552414_n.jpg

 

16105618_1555385911157719_4780228914919141085_n.jpg

Don’t beat yourself up over not being able to do everything you feel you need to do. Some things do fall to the back burner. And when you finally get around to checking on them, they very well may have gotten cold, hard, and nasty. But guess what. You can reheat those suckers and they will still be decent. Maybe not amazing. But decent. And if our kids have been taken care of first and we’ve been fairly successful at our jobs, then decent will be alright for everything else. 

16298814_1570077933021850_5178090767033891845_n.jpg

Knowing I have been a good mom, wife, teacher is the most important thing. With that knowledge, I can then work on my passion (writing) in the small amount of time I have left with more fervor and heart than I would’ve been able to had I not been a mom, wife, and teacher first.

But, if you mess up on the other side and forget to put those things first, don’t beat yourself up over that either. There have been deadlines I had to meet and then other times where I got carried away in my passion and ended up failing in those other important areas. But that happens. Kids are resilient. Husbands will still love you. Jobs won’t generally go away just because you don’t give 100% ALL the time. It’s a give and take. Not a strict, rigid order, but flexible priorities.

just-take-a-deep-breath-picture-by-ummurmom-inspiring-photo-28.jpeg

That’s how we do it, ladies. So take a deep breath. Drink some coffee. And go punch your schedule in the face.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on February 7, 2017.

2 Responses to “Writer, Teacher, Mom – The Balancing Act”

  1. Very cool and right on as usual. 🙂

  2. Thanks a bunch!

Leave a Reply

 
