The Teacher Walkout Aftermath

r960-1f5167b7f9c56c59c14179734acc3f44.jpg

As the official Oklahoma Teacher Walkout ends, many teachers are left heavy with emotions and worried about the consequences. If you asked a teacher how he or she felt about the walkout ending, you’d probably get a mix of answers. In the wake of the teacher walkout, we are feeling everything!

I find that explaining how you feel and why tends to make you feel validated. And teachers need to feel validated right now. So, in an attempt to help people understand, I give you the top 10 emotions Oklahoma teachers are feeling in the Teacher Walkout Aftermath (not in any order).

 

  1. Defeated – This is the #1 emotion right now for most teachers. You may think because OEA and some of the media have said we got most of what we were asking for that we shouldn’t feel this way. Those are lies. The reason we still walked on April 2nd was because we only got 50 million in funding for general education when we’d asked for 200 million after 230 million had been cut over the years. Since the passing of HB 1010 before we walked, the following happened:
  • 50 million of revenue to fund HB1010 was taken away because of the hotel/motel tax.
  • 20 million from the Amazon bill was allocated for education for next year and is recurring.
  • 22 million from the Ball and Dice bill was allocated for education for year 2 and is recurring.
  • There is still no plan in place to step up in years 2 and 3 as OEA had asked to meet the full asking demands.
  • Also, there isn’t enough funding for HB1010 in year 2 as the cigarette tax goes to Healthcare.
  • After Amazon and Ball and Dice, we fought for almost a whole week` and got nothing more.

safe_image.jpg

  1. Manipulated – Boy do we feel this for so many reasons! We first felt this when the legislature passed 1010 and pawned it off as historic and wonderful so that the public would assume we got what we wanted and turn on us if we still walked. Before this passed, we had already gotten some backlash (See my post from 3/15). Luckily, however, after this bill passed, the public saw through this and mostly stuck with us. Second, as mentioned above, OEA and the media have exaggerated what’s really been done for education. This was most likely at first to force teacher and public opinion to change and to end the walkout, and now to save face. Third, many teachers felt unsupported by their administration during the walkout, and even out of those that did feel supported, some started to feel that support deteriorate when pressure was put on the superintendents by OEA and legislators.

 

  1. Overlooked – The first week, the legislators seemed to care a little about our cause, some more than others (See my post earlier in the walkout when we were still trying to be optimistic). This week, they were blatantly waiting us out. Some refused to talk to us or barely gave us the time of day. Some did talk for a while but just gave us the run-around. Others flat out said they weren’t doing anything else for us. The last few days they adjourned early without having discussed any bills to help with education funding. Our presence didn’t matter to them. We didn’t matter to them. We were just insignificant, pesky little ants they knew they wouldn’t have to deal with for long. Being treated like an ant that can easily be squashed will make you feel small and insignificant.

 

  1. Angry – Along with overlooking and undervaluing us, many legislators put off an extremely egotistical vibe. Like they were too good for us and didn’t need to listen to us. After a friend of mine had a not so great conversation with McDougal (after his infamous video went viral), the egotistical legislator actually had the gall to ask my friend if he wanted a picture with him. Seriously? The way they’ve treated and ignored us, all while neglecting our kids, infuriates us. There have been some legislators helping us and rooting for us, but they were few. The only thing that helps is knowing November is coming. We will make sure they pay.

636582734297039299-06.JPG

  1. Jaded – Before all of this, I was ignorant. I didn’t pay close attention to politics. I just went along with things and minded my own business. After these last two weeks, my eyes have been opened to the corruption of our lawmakers and to our screwed up legislative system. I will never take politics lightly again, and I feel like some of my idealistic innocence has been taken from me.

 

  1. Worried – With all of the above feelings, it’s not hard to understand that teacher morale is low, lower than it was before, I think. That low morale is going to lead to more teachers leaving, either to go to another state or to a different profession. They did what they could. They felt they weren’t listened to or valued. Now they can leave with a pure conscience, knowing they tried. Our teacher shortage will get worse and we’ll have to hire more emergency certified “teachers.”

 

  1. Uncertain – Most of us had mixed emotions the last few days of the walkout. With all the negative feedback and information we were getting from our legislators who were unwilling to budge and from our superintendents who wanted us back in school, mixed with our desire to be teaching our kids again, many of us wanted to stay, but we weren’t sure if it would be worth it.

 

  1. Foolish – I know, I know. We did what we could. It was a noble fight. Still…when you fight so strongly for something, saying and feeling like you won’t give up until you win, and then you’re forced to quit…it can leave you feeling foolish. Like, what was the point of us being there all this week? Maybe we should have done things differently. Maybe our tactics weren’t great (which they weren’t as far as OEA’s message continuing to change and the fact that there wasn’t really a clear and simple bill we could fight for that would give us our win).

 

  1. Relieved – I’m not going to lie. There is a little relief in knowing my life will somewhat return back to normal since this walkout has been so physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausting. I didn’t want it to end this way, but I obviously wanted it to end!

 

  1. Passionate – You know what they say – absence makes the heart grow fonder. Over spring breaks and even Christmas breaks, I’ll be honest…I don’t usually miss my students. Those breaks are needed, for family and for detoxing. This time I truly have missed seeing their faces, even the ornery ones! I think one win of this walkout, for me anyway, is that it has renewed my love for my students and reminded me of the importance of teaching. I know what I do matters, and I truly love what I do. I just hope that passion is enough to combat all the negative feelings.

 

A FEW WINS:

  • We did get a pay raise…at least for now.
  • Although it isn’t much, we did get a little bit of funding for our schools and a little bit of a raise for support staff.
  • We have raised awareness to our state and ourselves how corrupt and misguided our government is. You better believe teachers and other citizens will be way more involved politically with voting and talking to representatives. Future change for the better is still possible.
  • Also, because of this awareness, most if not all of the legislators will now have opponents going into election time.

 

THINGS TO REMEMBER:

  • Stay educated and beware of propaganda with skewed views and misleading or vague wording.
  • Vote in the primaries in June and then again in November. Be sure to research the candidates and vote out the people who proved these last few weeks that they care more about themselves, their jobs, and their party affiliations than the betterment of our state.
  • Please hug a teacher and give them your thanks for fighting so hard for Oklahoma’s kids. We need it right now.

 

***Click the FOLLOW button on the upper right (or “Notify me of new posts via email” at the bottom if on a phone) to get notified about future posts. As efforts continue in our state to increase funding and create change in our legislature this June and November, I’ll do my best to keep you informed.

*** See my Teacher Walkout Aftermath Part 2 post which turns this list around into an empowering pep talk for teachers.

~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on April 13, 2018.

23 Responses to “The Teacher Walkout Aftermath”

  1. Thank you for sharing all this and especially the details of what’s accomplished, what’s not, and what’s been passed off as great wins by the media. What a mixed bag for the teachers as they return. Prayers for that “passion” to continue undeterred.

  2. This is organizationally very informative and stated very eloquently. Thank you.

  3. Thank You so much for putting this out there! You very eloquently said exactly how I feel!
    I hope you don’t mind-I’m going to print this out so that I can shared digitally and in hard copy.

  4. You forget, like ALL liberals do, it is US who are paying you. You are not SPECIAL for teaching anymore than I was for enforcing the laws of the city I worked for. I would have fired all of you.

    • You are definitely entitled to your opinion, which is why I approved your comment. However, let me address some of your comments. First, I am a Republican, as were many teachers and citizens who supported this cause. Second, as a Republican, I understand not wanting new taxes. But because the legislature has neglected education funding for so long, there comes a crisis point when something as huge as the walkout is needed and something not desirable such as new taxes becomes necessary. Third, we are not trying to say we are special. If anything, we are saying our students are special. The legislators have forgotten that. Fourth, if we had all been fired, there would have been no teachers left and public education would have failed.

  5. I am a parent of a child in the the public school system. I was so upset when I heard the news that the walkout was called off before demands were met, not at the teachers, but at our legislation for failing us again. The very first think I did was email my school to thank teachers and staff for what they did and to let them know that I promised to remember their cause on Election Day. I hope many more did the same so they know their efforts weren’t lost to death ears. I know many are tired of the legislation promising bills that will help education and then corrupting the bill to defer funds to other agendas, so I like to believe this will be the push that was needed to get them out to vote and make some change. Thank you for sharing this information and think that we should keep sharing information to keep this fresh in the minds of the public.

  6. Wow, I’m only a para not a teacher but I feel everything from this.

  7. I will remember in November. Our kids need to be educated. They will be the ones making decisions for us in our old age. Hopefully the will have a good education and be aware of how government & politics work.

  8. I just wanted to thank you for the way you presented this information. If confirms what I believe to be true. I will be paying attention to the elections. I believe the teachers are tired of the situation our schools are in. With less we are to do more. I think Oklahoma will be watching our representative and chose to vote accordingly. Blessings to you and all the others that stood so passionately. Our kids are lucky!!

  9. with Coburn’s petition in the works, I don’t feel certain about the pay raise. If you read some of the signers facebook pages, they loathe teachers.

  10. Another reason to have hope this fight isn’t over – those children all the teachers were fighting for? They saw your struggle, and I guarantee THEY won’t forget. And guess what? Many of them were high school seniors, who will be turning 18… Just in time to vote in June and in November. I’m betting record numbers of 18 year olds register to vote this year in Oklahoma. And I’m betting most of them, are voting in support of teachers and those who support them.

  11. Dusty, my daughter Abby is the girl in the yellow beanie in the photo at the top of your article. We spent several days at the Capitol and all of the emotions you listed are right on track. I returned to my classroom yesterday met with hugs and high-fives from my 6th graders and I realized that the core of this issue is our love for our students. The primaries are just around the corner. Time to fight the next battle on a different front. This time we won’t just take names, we will take their jobs.

  12. […] of these emotions we’ve felt lately (see original post here)? It’s time to turn those feelings into power. It’s time to be like Maya Angelo’s poem and […]

Leave a comment