Pitch Wars 2021!

Let’s just say 2020…and a good part of 2021 was a break from all of my author-ness stuff. Don’t get me wrong! I did some more revision on my WIP and submitted to some literary agents, but my heart wasn’t fully in it. Either it wasn’t God’s timing, or I got lazy, or the craziness of everything these past 2 years got to me…probably all of the above.

Whatever the case, I have something new inspiring me and lighting a hopeful fire underneath my complacent bum! Pitch Wars! If you haven’t heard of it, it’s an awesome author mentorship program where veteran authors pair up with newer authors with a new book that hasn’t been published yet. Through the whole process these mentors help the mentees revise their book and perfect their pitch to potential agents. I am super excited and can’t wait to see if I was chosen by one of the four mentors I submitted to! If I don’t get chosen, I won’t let that get me down, but it doesn’t hurt to have hope in the meantime, right? 🙂

Here’s a shout out to the lovely mentor authors I chose to submit to because of their expertise and the many things we have in common in what we write and what we like. (Click on the images to read more!

  • Dante Madema and Liz Lawson!
  • Check out Dante’s books!

    Coming in March of 2022 – An emotional mystery, thriller set in Alaska! Sounds great!
    A YA contemporary novel written in verse form? Clever and unique!

    Check out Liz Lawson’s books!

    Heavy emotions with all the feels about the aftermath of a school shooting!

    Also, The Agathas, co-authored with Kathleen Glasgow, set to come out the summer of 2022! No cover yet!

    2. Emily Thiede and Lauren Blackwood

    Check out Emily Thiede’s book!

    Fantasy full of emotion, adventure, and romance!

    Check out Lauren Blackwood’s book!

    Fantasy, Horror, Romance, with Jane Ere vibes!

    3. Jennifer Yu

    Check out Jennifer’s books!

    Timely YA Realistic fiction that deals with mental health with a touch of romance
    Another Realistic fiction dealing with different types of mental health issues with a focus on friendship as well!

    4. M.T. Khan

    Since there isn’t yet a cover for her upcoming book, Nura and the Immortal Palace, here’s a lovely picture of this author instead! Click on her picture for more info about the book coming out in 2022 – a fantasy that explores Pakistani culture as well as child labor!

    Author mentor choices are announced November 1st, so I’ll keep you posted! In the meantime, let me know if you’ve read one of these lovely authors’ books and what you thought!

    ~ by Dusty Crabtree - Author of Shadow Eyes on October 8, 2021.

    Leave a comment